Providence


In theology providence talks to “God’s activity in the world.”

There are two general ways of thinking about providence: “General Providence” refers to God’s continuous upholding of the natural order of the universe; “Special Providence” refers to God’s extraordinary intervention in the life of people.

Four weeks ago I was ill; really, really ill; and I had too much on my plate: a job with issues, studies with deadlines, pastoring with problems… prepping, planning, moving… and so it went on. It was Monday and I knew I needed to begin the Sunday sermon but I had a temperature a shade under 40 and no energy. I looked at my diary and providence happened. Some time in December Andre Broodryk, the pastor of Benoni Baptist had scheduled a preacher to come in and assist me at Crystal Park Baptist. Praise Him!

Tonight I realised I had a problem; I’m moving house on Friday and so far my wife has done everything. On Saturday I really need to be playing the role of husband by putting up security gates and changing light bulbs at the new house yet what can I do? I’m a pastor and I work fulltime, I need my Saturday to complete my sermon for Sunday. I looked at my diary and providence happened. Andre had scheduled a preacher to come in this Sunday and assist me at Crystal Park Baptist. Praise Him!

God, is so far above us that most of humanity thinks of Him as transcendent, unapproachable, a vague force who doesn’t care. May it never be! My God takes care of all my needs according to His riches in glory. Praise Him!

6 thoughts on “Providence

Leave a Reply

