Alliteration, Alteration, Allocution


Public speaking isn’t easy. It’s even harder when you’re convinced that you’re handling the Word of God and that you’re going to be judged more harshly because of it. One of my heroes has an uncanny ability to alliterate almost any sermon or talk at the drop of a hat. I’m not so fortunate yet every now and again preparation and inspiration collide. Tonight might have been one of those chance encounters. Below, my notes on 1 Timothy 1:1 – 2.

1 Timothy 2:1 - 2 Outline

Click the image to enlarge.

Want to hear the verse in context? 1 Timothy 2
What is this about?

7 thoughts on “Alliteration, Alteration, Allocution

      • Try witting word-for-word what you intend to say in your sermon.
        It will help you focus more and know when you not going to get through the whole thing. So you are able to really polish the parts you are going to preach on.

        About 10 pages is 45 minutes, so if you do the traditional BU sermon 8 pages is the cut off.

        You don’t have to keep to your notes, the notes are just there to help you think it through and order the sermon.

        Who’s John Street?

        Joel James is giving a sermon course now, I hear it is worth gold.

        • Hey Tommie,

          Everything you say is valid.

          I put my first four sermons online here https://markpenrith.wordpress.com/2010/09/27/of-truth-love-and-liars/. To be honest I’m not sure there’s much value publishing my writings. There are far better guys out there. Also I have very little time to edit my stuff and make it more consumable.

          I rate John Street’s preaching really highly; he’s just really slow (not in a bad way; I think you have to sit through a series to understand). He preached something like 21 sermons through 2 John (that’s 13 verses! I did it over 2 months and thought I was pushing the boundaries a bit ;) ). You can listen to a sermon or two from here: http://www.gracechurch.org/media/?filter=speaker&id=43. He is an elder at Grace Community Church.

          Wish I had the time to come and sit in on Joel’s training course. I have no doubt it’d be edifying. I’m currently managing part of a business, pastoring a church, being a husband, studying a number of subjects, preparing a weekly sermon, being a dad… you get the point.

          In Christ,

          Mark

          • Mark

            “I’m currently managing part of a business, pastoring a church, being a husband, studying a number of subjects, preparing a weekly sermon, being a dad… you get the point.”

            A very good point, I pray that the church finances will grow so that you can at least drop one. (business, if that is in line.)

            I’ll see if I can get hold of the notes, the one book is available online, for free.

            Thanks for the links.

            Tom

Leave a Reply

