New Additions


For the last few months (maybe years… who’s counting) I’ve been keeping track of about 100+ South African Christian Bloggers on My Blogroll. I follow their posts and comments via RSS and although I don’t interact on every blog I pretty much know what’s going on in their space. I’ve often decried how inactive Baptists seem to be (I’m a Baptist) and how completely key’d in Methodists are online.

Well I’m happy to say that for the first time the Baptists are starting to catch up with the Methodists in numbers (10 vs 12, yet I have noticed that I’m linked to by more Arminians than Calvinists and that continues to baffle me). I’d like to highlight 4 new additions to the list: Cregenda, The Regatta, Vertical Vision and Fingerprints of God. Welcome, doubly so because you look kinda like me and let’s face it, nobody likes being alone at a party.

There are other sites I’ve yet to add to the list. I’m holding out because either I’ve not yet nailed down their Theology or I’m not comfortable with where I think they’re nailed down.

Go and check out the list and drop me a comment. Anyone I’m missing?

12 thoughts on “New Additions

  1. Thanks for the new suggestions – I haven’t seen them and will follow for a while! Your watchlist has really grown! I’d love to be able to measure the impact it has had on your theology! What do you think? How have the diverse blogs changed you?

    • That’s an interesting question (you went to BTC before SMMS didn’t you? I’d be equally interested in your answer).

      For me on the one hand I see value in exposing my Theological constructs to criticism. I’ve grown by being challenged by John van de Laar regarding my post on Ross Olivier or Angus Kelly regarding postings on Scripture and inspiration (although I seem to think that I’ve fallen out of vogue with both guys as I’ve not interacted with them for months).

      On the other hand I draw very clear distinctions between what I believe and Scriptural reasons why I cling to it and what others build their straw houses upon (that’s a bit confrontational isn’t it :) ). I guess you could say I’m not easily swayed. The dangerous path I tread is of getting too bogged down in what Paul calls, “myths and endless genealogies… [which] promote controversies rather than God’s work-which is by faith.” That is why on occasion I bow out of debate.

      I wrote a three part series titled Why Blog (https://markpenrith.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/why-blog-introspection-part-1/) where I credited Introspection, Interaction and Impact. I think I should write a new post Influence; so with Paul I can say, “[I] know what it is to fear the Lord, [so I] try to persuade men.”

      • Hi Mark
        I think people have been busy and are now away, which might be why they’re not interacting. My blog readership is quite down at the moment as well!
        Reading different view points has stretched me. Some very liberal and very fundamentalist blogs made me so unhappy that I stopped reading them (some I still don’t read). But where Christian grace is involved I have learnt to understand other points of view. In truly understanding other people’s arguments I refine what I believe and in some cases become more accomodating. For instance, there are those in the same sex debate who have thrown out Scritural authority and sometimes even God’s right to set the rules. It is difficult for me to find common ground there. Others, however, are convinced that God has not outlawed homosexual behaviour and see Biblical justification for it – here I might disagree, but there is still space for debate and discussion. But it’s reading the blogs that have helped me see these differences!
        I am glad of your commitment to the reformed position – I am much closer to you theologically than to most blogging Methodists and it has been encouraging. However, I also can’t always agree with you unless, being a woman, I go bury my gifts in the ground! But I think that we have common ground . . .
        Long answer, sorry!

        • Don’t bury your gifts in the ground and please stop thinking that I would desire that either. I never comment on your blog or respond to any comment you make on mine thinking of you as anything less than an equal (in truth you are far more progressed down the academic path than I am and I’m well aware of that). God’s Kingdom is as much established by Pricilla’s, Phoebe’s and Jenny’s as any other. We walk right next to each other as coequal servants to our Lord Jesus Christ.

          Where we would find disagreement is in the area of woman exercising authority over men. There I would come off looking a bit Amish. Where I would advocate for equality I would also advocate for distinct roles for the different sexes (I wonder if you would too?). Using Scripture as a guide I would argue a Biblical case against woman serving as pastors/elders/bishops however I would advocate a Biblical case for woman serving as deacons.

          • I don’t ever feel that you belittle me – thank you. How do you feel about women teaching men? In our context today I wonder what ‘having authority over’ really means. I will be interested to see how I feel the Spirit’s tug when I am a ‘real’ minister. Will I feel that it is wrong? In the Methodist Church the role of the minister is not technically an authoritative role, although it usually does work out that way. I have many questions that I could ask you about your approach . . . maybe you should write a post?

  2. A couple of comments: Reggie Nel is a member of the Uniting Reformed Church (offspring of Dutch Reformed).

    I’d be interested in knowing how you pegged the theology of “Discerning the world”. I haven’t looked at it for a very long time, but last time I did look they seemed much more willing to let everyone know what they are against, while what they are for remains a closely-guarded secret.

    They remind me of the Pogo comic The Jack Acid Society black book, where Pogo asks:

    What does the Jack Acid Society stand for?

    and the answer is:

    We won’t stand for much, believe me.

    • Hi Steve,

      Thanks for the correction. I’ve made the adjustment.

      I’ve made plenty of assumptions on many of the people in the list including yourself as I clearly have no idea how Orthodox (in the Greek sense) Soteriology is put together.

      Very funny.

Leave a Reply

