This Year’s Perfect Christmas Gift for Kids


R.C. Sproul, Sproul, The Lightlings, The Lightnings, The Prince's Poisen Cup, Justin Gerard

The Lightlings, written by R.C. Sproul and illustrated by Justin Gerard. Click image to enlarge.

My family and I started attending Crystal Park Baptist Church at the beginning of December, leaving Midrand Chapel, our spiritual home for 12 years. The departure was heart wrenching for my wife and kids, who cried buckets at the farewell. We left friends, confidants, support structures, family.

As a parting gift to our children Chris and Megan Woolley (the pastoral couple at Midrand Chapel) gave two books (The Lightlings and The Prince’s Poison Cup) written by R.C. Sproul and illustrated by Justin Gerard.

I sat on Kathryn’s bed a few nights ago with her cuddled into my chest, on the other side Kaitlyn, snuggled and content, and narrated The Lightlings to them. Towards the end of the story I had a tear rolling down my cheek as I reflected on the wonderful gift of Jesus Christ, our Lord, God and Savior, to a world which didn’t know Him and in willful rebellion rejected and killed Him.

The book is an allegorical tale of creation, the Fall and redemption based on John 1:5,

5 The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it.”

Want to hear the verse in context? John 1
What is this about?

The kids saw right through the tale, as if it were a transparent film which brought the Biblical message into sharp focus. When we got to the discussion questions at the end of the book I was amazed at how much our 5 year old understood and was able to articulate back to me.

I’d say that The Lightlings is suited for children aged 4 – 10. Justin Gerard’s illustrations are as mesmerizing for the children as they were for me and R.C. Sproul transforms a Theological debate into a family discussion as accessible to my daughter of 5 as to her dad of 35.

The kids are dying for more and I can’t wait for the next installment.

This really is the perfect Christmas gift for kids. I saw them on the shelf at Augustine Bookroom for R120.00.

Leave a Reply

