Weddings, Dance floors, Ecclesiology and my Immanent Midlife Crisis


Jonathan Klimek, Clare Klimer, wedding, marriage, Ephessians 5

The happy couple. Click image to enlarge.

Mark Penrith, Liezl Penrith, wedding, marriage, Ephessians 5

My beautiful wife and I. Gosh, she just gets prettier and prettier; as for me… Click image to enlarge.

Last night Liezl and I witnessed the blessed union of Jonathan Klimek and Clare Jolly in holy matrimony. The service was beautifully God centred and I was once again reminded that this picture of one man being joined together to one woman is a representation of the relationship between Christ and His church.

Anyway, in the interests of fun I have to relate this story. The bridal couple has the first dance and the second went to the bridal party. For the third dance they called up people in order of the period of time that they had been married. First the one month olds, then the six month olds, then those that had been hitched for a year. After they called up those that had been around for less than 5 years and then those that had been around for less than 10. I got ready to go up in the next group cause Liezl and I are in our 11th year of marriage and the DJ announced,

“All the rest can join the floor.”

“WHAT? I can’t possibly be old enough to be in the last group called! There’s something seriously wrong with this picture,” my mind skulked as I moved wearily to the dance floor my lovely wife in tow.

I’m a wee bit young for a midlife crisis but let’s face it, tactless DJ’s don’t help! :)

8 thoughts on “Weddings, Dance floors, Ecclesiology and my Immanent Midlife Crisis

  1. Being in the last group isn’t so bad Mark. If you have gone past 10 years (next year is 21 for us), then you are unique in this world. You have staked your claim as someone who is committed beyond the expectations of this drifting world!

    • Ain’t it just.

      It does make it easier when you’re married to someone as wonderful as Liezl. Proverbs 31:10, “An excellent wife, who can find? For her worth is far above jewels.”

Leave a Reply

