What the Bible has to say about God’s heart for the world and the Church’s and the Christian’s responsibility to be involved in what God is doing


Click here for Assignment 2 —>
What the Bible has to say about God’s heart for the world and the Church’s and the Christian’s responsibility to be involved in what God is doing

Click here or on the icon to link to the pdf.

So it’s another paper. I picked a topic that was a bit contravercial in that I thought the question had been framed incorrectly. I was expecting, “What the Bible has to say about God’s heart for the nations and the Church’s and the Christian’s responsibility to be involved in what God is doing” but instead got the word “world”. I’m told it’s readably academic and the marker (Rev George Ngamlana) says he enjoyed reading it.

I’d love to get constructive feedback or criticism as this is a skill I’m going to be using quiet a lot going forward.

You could click on the big icon on the left hand side of the page or click here (Adobe PDF) to link to the paper titled: What the Bible has to say about God’s heart for the world and the Church’s and the Christian’s responsibility to be involved in what God is doing.

Thanks,

Mark

Um, so, between this and the last effort I’ve had favourable feedback.

Click here for Assignment 2 —>
11 thoughts on “What the Bible has to say about God’s heart for the world and the Church’s and the Christian’s responsibility to be involved in what God is doing

    • Um, I should have put a warning label on it, “Heavy Theological bent towards sovereignty and substitutionary atonement.” I think, but do not know, that we might differ on some points of doctrine?

      I appreciate the interaction. Please pass on some constructive criticism. I’d like to grow.

  1. Someone whose feedback I value had the following points:
    1. Regarding the Sasse quote on page 2: Fine, but not a clear definition. How about the system of sinful social relationships that stands in opposition to God?
    2. Regarding the God’s hostility towards the heavens and earth on page 3: Not sure about the above – Rom 8, creation is awaiting its redemption.
    3. Regarding the analogy of vegetables towards particularism on page 4: I like this explanation – probably not enough to convince lecturer though.
    4. Regarding the building up of the church on page 5: What does it mean to “build the church?” Build her up in maturity, add the elect to her number?
    5. Regarding the Bibliography: might be helpful to relate what we are called to do with what God is doing in building His church – how are we working with God?

    My wife pointed out a structural flaw. There is too wide a gap between section 1 (God’s relation to the world) and 2 (our relation to His work).

    The lecturer gave single phrase feedback and a mark. It was high.

  2. A few things stood out for me. To speak of being involved in what God is doing, and similar language, tends to be a marker of certain theological streams, most notably narrative theology. When I read stuff and see little red flags like that (or whatever colour one would like them to be), I look for some kind of clarity. Incidentally did you refer to 2 Cor 6:1? Also, I saw the word deconstruction, but I couldn’t really see any deconstruction being done — internal absences, conflicts, and so on. So what does the word refer to? Maybe you’re doing a word study or semantic analysis, Otherwise, a clear, lively paper. Good writing.

  3. Oh how about that. I think they put my unmarked thesis on their website by mistake. However, that means it’s uncorrupted by academics — the original raw power and beauty. There’s a lot of undergrowth in there. It gets to the point in chapters four to six. I obtained cum laude for the thesis.

  4. Ha ha ha. I had a moment of de-ja-vu when I saw this title. Will send you my assignment. I used John 3:16 as well (can’t remember if it was a requirement) but approached it a little differently. God bless. Darryl.

Leave a Reply

