Built for a purpose


surfing The Pipe Port Elizabeth with a Great White Shark

Click image to link to source.

As a kid I spent a great deal of time in the ocean swimming, sailing, snorkelling and surfing. Once, surfing about 50 meters out to sea, near a spot called The Pipe in Port Elizabeth, I looked up at the shoreline and saw my dad standing on the bonnet of the car frantically waving his arms, signalling to me.

Simultaneously I became aware that I was alone; all the other surfers had paddled out of the water and were standing on the beach, waving their arms, beckoning me to swim in.

An ice cold chill shivered its way up my spine and a paralysing sense of fear welled up inside of me. As adrenalin pumped through my body one word exploded in my mind, “SHARK!”

Listen to some of the features that fuelled my panic:

  • Great whites grow to an average of 4.6 meters in length, though specimens exceeding 6 meters and weighing up to 2,3 tons have been recorded.
  • Great whites can detect one drop of blood in 100 litres of water and can sense even tiny amounts of blood in the water up to 5 kilometres away.
  • Great whites mouths are lined with up to 300 serrated, triangular teeth arranged in several rows.
  • Great whites have organs that can sense the tiny electromagnetic fields generated by theor prey.
  • And then perhaps most importantly to me at the time was I thought a great white was between me and the shoreline.

Well I got out of there as fast as I could. My friends later described my hasty emergence from the sea as if I had “walked on the very water itself.”

The great white shark is built for a purpose and it’s not to look pretty, whistle a tune or blend into the environment, it’s to kill. It is a ferocious killing, eating, slaughtering machine. One purpose, one function, one goal.

You and I friends are built for a purpose too, a singular function. God has put us humans together in such a way that we need to worship. Furthermore He requires us to worship, He created us to worship, He desires us to worship and ultimately those who worship Him on earth will worship Him eternally in heaven.

We’re built to worship the Lord.

In heaven this celestial tune rises up day and night,

“HOLY, HOLY, HOLY {is} THE LORD GOD, THE ALMIGHTY, WHO WAS AND WHO IS AND WHO IS TO COME.”

Want to hear the verse in context? Revelation 4
What is this about?

The gaint fin gliding through the water turned out to be a Whale Shark. Maybe, for integrities sake, I should point out that I’m using the word surfing as a synonym for body boarding.

One thought on “Built for a purpose

Leave a Reply

