Obla dee, obla dah


Liezl and me

Life is complex. How Liezl and I met and the stories and tales which get us to where we are today read a bit like Gone with the Wind, a bit like Love Actually, a bit like Meet the Parents and a teeny tiny bit like Days of our Lives. Click image to enlarge.

Life is like a merry-go-round spinning with ever increasing speed.

I remember as a kid time crawling by so slowly. A day was as a week, a week like a month and a month, well, that was a period of time that could not be rationally fathomed or related to. Now the world blurs by. I’m in a speed wobble. Birthday’s, anniversaries, births, deaths, careers, grades…

Change is also something that I’ve grown to live with, constant morphedness. Never more had I noticed it till when I had kids. They literarily transform before your eyes. Crawl, walk, stand, talk, teeth, school, love, married, out the house. I miss them already.

While time and change might not be kind to me, God certainly has been. Today is my 9th year wedding anniversary. As we close out our first decade I’m increasingly grateful that I’ve gotten to spend it with Liezl. She’s brought the stability into my life that I never knew I always needed.

I’m enjoying growing old with her.

The wise (but not exactly monogamous) king Soloman didn’t get this right himself but for posterity he recorded this wise sane,

18 Let your fountain be blessed, And rejoice in the wife of your youth.

Want to hear the verse in context? Proverbs 1 – 5
What is this about?

It goes on, but *blush* that’s where I’ll end.

Leave a Reply

