What’s the audio player button all about?


Audio text now accompanies verse references.

An exciting new feature on Because He Lives brings the reader closer to the text by making them a listener. Click image to enlarge.

If you’ve read this blog for any length of time you’ll know by now that Scripture is very important to me. I normally write a story, it has a bit of dialog, maybe a few pictures, a probing question and almost always a single Bible verse. Here’s my problem though, I hate quoting a verse because mostly proof texting is done by stuffy academics or nutty liberals and I’m neither (maybe in time I’ll turn out to be a nutty academic).

Context, when anyone comes to Scripture they have to be concerned about context and my format doesn’t allow for that. So I’m really excited to bring a completely new feature to the blog Because He Lives. Under each verse is a little play button, if you click it you’ll have the opportunity to listen to the entire chapter that the verse quoted is found in. That means that if you’re interested in the post you’ll be able to ensure the contextual integrity of what I’m saying.

Let me give you an example. Psalm 14 is an Atheists dream. It says, “There is no God.” Now if you know anything about Scripture you know that that sounds ridiculous. So listen to the verse in context below,

1 …”There is no God.”…

Want to hear the verse in context? Psalm 14 – 28
What is this about?

Maybe as a sidebar, this is all recordings that exist in the public domain, so they’re free to listen to and free to distribute. It’s going to take me a while to roll it out to legacy posts but I will. Scripture is that important. Oh, maybe I should have noted that the version I’m planning on using is the American Standard Version. Any comments?

How important is the integrity of the Word to you?

Leave a Reply

