My solution to copyright infringement


Audio books that Christians can enjoy Public domain The Pilgrim's Progress John Bunyan.

This photo depicts Christian, the main character from John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress. It was taken in a church in Bedford by Scott Gilbreath

I’m really excited. I mean excitement like a 6 year old child the evening before Christmas. Jump up and down excitement. You see I’ve found a treasure chest packed full with literary delight. Maybe you read my post Piracy, a Christian’s perspective? I’ve found a site where I can legally download audio books to my heart’s content. Yippee!

Audio books really suit my lifestyle. I sit in traffic for 2 hours every day and music doesn’t really blow my hair back. But where to find the good stuff, that’s free and that’s legal?

A place to start is LibriVox.org. They take books that are in the public domain and voice over them. The quality is good to great. Their catalogue search is a bit cludgy but I found enough content to get me started.

Audio books that Christians can enjoy Public domain The Pilgrim's Progress John Bunyan.

This photo depicts Christian, the main character from John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress. It was taken in a church in Bedford by Scott Gilbreath

I’ve downloaded Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The American Standard Version’s translation of The Gospel According to St. Matthew and John Bunyan’s The Pilgrim’s Progress along with a few other titles.

This is really good stuff and a fantastic resource for people who don’t like to read but know they need to expand themselves or people, like me, who do like to read but live in a city where driving to work every day equates to sitting in the biggest car park on planet Earth… the N1.

Pilgrim’s Progress starts on it’s knees with these words:

“As I walked through the wilderness of this world, I lighted on a certain place where was a den (the gaol), and I laid me down in that place to sleep: and as I slept, I dreamed a dream. I dreamed; and behold, I saw a man clothed with rags standing in a certain place, with his face from his own house, a book in his hand, and a great burden upon his back. I looked, and saw him open the book, and read therein; and as he read, he wept and trembled;

4 For mine iniquities are gone over mine head: as an heavy burden they are too heavy for me.”

Want to download the audio books discussed in the post?

While researching for this post I came across an interesting blog. Click here to check out Scott Gilbreath’s blog. He collects churches too. Any other sources I should check out?

One thought on “My solution to copyright infringement

Leave a Reply

