To His glory God is working collectively with His people in Southern Africa


Annual Sola 5 Conference

I attended a session of the Annual Sola 5 Conference this morning.

I was excited driving home and quite probably wore Chris out with incessant chatter. We attended an Annual Sola 5 Conference session this morning at Brackenhurst Baptist Church and it rocked. I’d sum up my excitement in three ways: the topic, “By His grace God has called His people to Enriched Service”, the facilitation, “By His mercy God is doing great things with His people from further North” and the ethos, “To His glory God is working collectively with His people in Southern Africa”.

“To His glory God is working collectively with His people in Southern Africa”. What got me so fired up? Well, there was a Mozambique mission report back. The church plant described was small but the work going into it was very big indeed. It was the testimony of the missionary of church cooperation and partnership that is going on for the sake of the Gospel that really did it for me.

The church in Mozambique has been planted over many years. At different stages they’ve needed assistance and each time a church from the wider body of Christ has stepped in. Churches from Johannesburg and churches from Lusaka, churches from small towns and churches from big cities, churches with lots of resources and churches without much. All coming together to ensure that the believers in Mozambique are adequately equipped to grow in their faith.

There might have been as many as 15 churches which have stepped in at different times over a period of 10 years to render assistance. One organised architectural drawings for a church building and a hospital project. Another sent an elder for 8 months to project manage some construction work. Money, materials, resources, people… all coming together for the extension of God’s kingdom.

The body of Christ, together, working towards His goals and to His glory. What a testimony!

Paul speaking to the Philippians in chapter 1 says:

3 I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, 4 always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, 5 because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now.

How do you see correct inter church cooperation? The previous post relating to the Annual Sola 5 conference can be found here.

3 thoughts on “To His glory God is working collectively with His people in Southern Africa

  1. Hey Mark. Just letting u know that I totally enjoy your writing brother. Oh and I got your comment on my blog, but need to go through that chapter of Acts before responding to your question.

    I would like to share some things with u via email so if you could give me your email address, I would dearly appreciate it. Please send it to gerardwillemse@gmail.com

    • Hi Gerard,

      I comment on almost every post you make because I love your story, your enthusiasm and zeal for the Lord.

      Thanks for stopping by and feel free to challenge me on anything as well. Blogging is as much about listening as it is about telling.

      In Christ,

      Mark

Leave a Reply

