Reflections on relationships


Quiet time with God can turn a Christian religion into a Christian relationship

The marina at St Francis is a beautiful playground and a perfect place to get down to some quiet time with family. That’s Kaitlyn in the “big sandpit” and Liezl in the PJs on the right. Click image to enlarge.

“What’s rule number 1?” I shouted in a mock drill sergeant voice.

“Head up if you land in the water!” giggled Kathryn as she repeated our made up mantra for the umpteenth time from the front of the wobbly canoe.

I paddled a few more strokes. My muscles were starting to burn with exertion.

“And rule number 2?” I quizzed, also having fun.

“Don’t squiggle in the boat!” She squeaked out while having a mini laughing fit.

The two of us had taken a canoe out onto the marina at the break of dawn. We’d been weaving through the canals for about forty minutes and it was beginning to dawn on me that tomorrow I was going to be really, really sore. I stopped rowing and laid back to relax for a while.

Time passed as time does.

“This is fun daddy,” she said dreamily, lazily.

We sat in the channel for about ten minutes listening to the birds and looking around at the massive houses. Not doing anything, just being.

Quality time with God makes for a quality relationship

I really need to do some PT while not on holiday that way I’d be able to do more while on holiday. I spent the next 4 days on the couch in pain after this excursion. Click image to enlarge.

“Daddy…” Kathryn began as she unfolded what she wanted to do today, what she enjoyed from yesterday, why her sister sometimes irritated her, why she loved her mom, how excited she was about her My Little Pony party coming up on the weekend, why she thought the sea was so big… on and on.

My holiday was fantastic. What made it fantastic was the conversations that I had with people who matter to me. The conversation with my mom the night we arrived, the ongoing chats with my dad, the mental gymnastics with my brother in law the time spent with Liezl and Kaitlyn and Kathryn and all the rest of the family.

Well I’ve been thinking a lot about God, Jesus, Christianity, religion and relationships lately. I read Philippians 3:7 – 10 this morning. In some ways it’s Paul’s argument against religious self righteousness and for divine relationship:

7 But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. 8 More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, 9 and may be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own derived from {the} Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which {comes} from God on the basis of faith, 10 that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death;

Do you know Christ? Do you know the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings? How’re your relations? Your relationships? The ones that count?

Leave a Reply

