Tradition. Part 1 of 5


Till death do us part

My brother in law takes amazing photos. This, I think, is the most artsy one I’ve attempted (and with my new cellphone, a Nokia N86 8MP). This was taken on the R62 at Kareedouw. Click image to enlarge.

Liezl, the girls and I briefly stopped by Knysna on the way to Sedgefield this afternoon. Thing is there’s these two churches on main street that I really wanted to check out; you probably know the type: old, stone and Anglican? It’s a tradition you see, the stopping and checking that is, I kinda remember them from when I was a kid and now pop in to visit every time I swing past. When I was younger my dad’d say, “mmm, Let’s check out the old Anglican church over there, wouldn’t that be interesting?” Never quite got it then however now that I’m aging into living fossil status I guess I’m allowed the same eccentricities.

Till death do us part

I have strong memories of Storms River Bridge and the whole Tsitsikamma area from when I was a child. Man, I love being here. Click image to enlarge.

The road trip to Knysna was, well… inspiring. And absolutely beautiful. South Africa rocks! And Spring has clearly almost Sprung, already some of the more eager trees are budding. Everything is lovely. We left PE on the N1 but a bit down the tracks we picked up a meander which steered us away from the safety of the coast line and the national road and into hill country. The R62 winds through a few one horse towns and on the way past one of them the girls decided they needed a pit stop. The deep blue skies framed the scrap metal yard behind the local garage in Kareedouw. It was so… back road Eastern Cape. I just had to shoot it.

Next stop Storms River Bridge. What a beautiful gorge and some of the best biltong I’ve had in months (at R200 a kg however I get the feeling they’re catering for the overseas stomach).

Till death do us part

These rivers run black with the heavy mineral deposits of the mountains. This was taken just outside Nature’s Valley. Click image to enlarge.

If you live in sunny SA then you know that the country’s getting a face lift for the 2010 Soccer World Cup. Basically every piece of road in the land is being pulled up and retarred resurfaced (I have no idea how to spell this. Any helpers?). Well about 150 kilometres away from the destination we were forced onto a subsiderary which linked us onto the R102. The road less traveled veered back to the jagged coast line, the sea breeze and a quaint town named Nature’s Valley.

This is part 1 of a series, and although it looks like it’s about my vacation it’s actually about Scripture. Now the particular Scripture for this post needs a bit of context. I’m trying to warm you to my thought angle lest you think I think in intangibles. My brother-in-law and I began this thought process a few nights ago. Our topic was tradition and Scripture and the question was what is it that really informs our belief and practice in this crazy day and age (he makes me jump hoops every time we get together)? More about these things tomorrow dear reader, today, God’s Word, 2 Timothy 3:14 – 15:

14 But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it 15 and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.

Wanna find St George’s:

In addition to St George’s and the church at Brenton on Sea are there any others I have to check out while I’m in this part of the world (time considered as I need to go sailing tomorrow and teach my older daughter to fish)?

3 thoughts on “Tradition. Part 1 of 5

  1. If you go through to George make sure you turn left into the Vic Bay Road and then right into the Carmel estate and visit their absolutely amazing Chapel that overlooks Vic Bay

Leave a Reply

