The spirit of this age: Deception for the intellectually challenged or easily swayed


Zeitgeist, Movie, Christianity, Christian Living, church, Scripture, Because He Lives

1Thessalonians 5:21, “Prove all things; hold fast that which is good.”

I had a chat with a guy at the office a few weeks ago about a movie called Zeitgeist which went a bit like this:

“So, what’s it all about?” I asked.

“mmm, Christianity and politics and stuff,” came the reply.

“Any good?” I half wondered but said out loud.

“Just download it and watch it,” he replied. “It pretty much debunks everything you believe.”

Well, now I’ve watched it and I really don’t get it. I’m fairly sure that the spirit of this age must be deception geared for the intelectually destitute because surely no one else will fall for this baloney?

For the last while I’ve noticed that the South African blogsphere was atwitter with the word Zeitgeist. Seems everyone who’s anyone has watched it and is chating about it. Very exciting, something new. Everyone, that is, except me. I guess you could say that I’m trend thwarted, fashion forlorned, “in-thing” impeded. Basically I stopped being cool in the 70’s.

Enter my brother-in-law. He’s a whole lot more synced and savvy than I am. It’s like he sits on the sharp edge of the fad sword, always having a hand in what’s new and interesting. I visit twice a year on holiday and we have long chats that go way into the wee hours of the morning while he exposes me to stuff. Twice a year means I’m always about six months behind any passing craze. Last night we did Zeitgeist.

Zeitgeist, Movie, Christianity, Christian Living, church, Scripture, Because He Lives

Genesis 1:16 – 18, 16 God made the two great lights, the greater light to govern the day, and the lesser light to govern the night; {He made} the stars also. 17 God placed them in the expanse of the heavens to give light on the earth, 18 and to govern the day and the night, and to separate the light from the darkness; and God saw that it was good.”

To be honest if the movie wasn’t portrayed as nonfiction I wouldn’t even bother blogging about it but this trash was put forward as gospel truth. There’s this David Attenborough sounding narrator who monologues through pseudo school book history making everything sound as factual as evolution [sic]. After the first twenty minutes I thought maybe this was satire dressed up in irony, mimicking a slap stick comedy but it wasn’t, this guy was serious. Let me give you an example of what I perceived as fictitious fact:

The monotonous narration goes to great pains to draw a parallel between the English word sun and son. So, “God’s sun” is directly equated to “the Son of God”. After that there’s this whole Zodiac thing going on. Now it doesn’t take a first year Greek student to think, “mmm, maybe in the original language these two words aren’t so closely linked?” And they’re not! The Greek word for sun is ἥλιος (hēlios, which is where I presume we drive the word helium from?… I love being right. Click here.) and the word for son is υἱός (uihos).

I could go on and on but I think there’s copious amounts of information online shooting proverbial holes through the major tenets of the film. Thing is though I’m wondering why is this movie so widely watched? I can understand people being drawn to false teaching but teaching that is so clearly inaccurate? Weird!

I know this is going to sound a bit contrieved but I can’t help thinking of Romans 1:21 – 22:

20 For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse. 21 For even though they knew God, they did not honor Him as God or give thanks, but they became futile in their speculations, and their foolish heart was darkened. 22 Professing to be wise, they became fools,

Well, what about you? What did you think of it? Good, great, eye opening, unsettling, shocking, awesome, poor, poppycock, drivel, tripe?

10 thoughts on “The spirit of this age: Deception for the intellectually challenged or easily swayed

  1. That was some pretty weird reading – not only the description of Zeitgeist (which I had not previously encountered) by Mark, but almost more so the analysis by Kangnamgu.
    I must agree wholeheartedly with our Korean friend that this Peter Joseph has done some pretty shallow research. I looked into most of these myths when I was searching, and I can only affirm that he is jumping to conclusions that aren’t there to be found in the first place.
    On the other hand Kangnamgu himself has some pretty strange ideas (reminds me of Herbert W Armstrong).
    But he is correct in saying that there are pagan influences in Christian belief and practice – not nearly as many as he supposes, but they are there nonetheless.
    There are few today who believe that Jesus was born on 25 December. But I believe that date was settled on not because of any pagan connections, but because it was a way of incorporating 25 Kislev (the date of the capture of the Temple by the Maccabees) into the Roman calendar without having it jump around that calendar (as Chanukah does to this day).
    I reject the Christmas tree as being pagan, but have to tolerate it in my own home (thankfully only for about a month of the year).
    Likewise I reject the Easter bunny. On the other hand, the Christian symbolism of the egg works for me, and I do enjoy chocolate!
    However, this discussion is about Zeitgeist, not Kangnamgu.
    Joseph’s contentions can easily be refuted (and by that word I mean considerably more than mere denial), and I look forward to being able to do so on many more forums.

    • Hi Mike,

      Thanks for stepping out of FB and into WordPress.

      The family and I are in PE at the moment. I was at St John’s on Sunday, looked for you but don’t think I spotted you (I’m a bit ill so maybe I missed you by accident).

      Regards,

      Mark

    • I agree, the research done in the Zeitgeist movie is really shallow and makes conclusions not based on fact. Another good source is Lee Stroble’s The Case for the Real Christ. He has an entire chapter dedicated to debunking the claims that Christianity was influenced by pagan religions.

  2. Romans 12:1-2 makes it clear that as Christians we should not be conformed to the Zeitgeist, but rather to the Heilige Geist.

    It’s interesting, though, that 40 years ago “cool” was usually an epithet used for countercultural stuff. No it’s more often used for those who are slaves to current cultural trends, the dedicated followers of fashion.

    • Hi there,

      I liked the “Heilige Geist” drop. I read your post today and saw that you used it agian. I also noticed we’re thinking about some of the same stuff at the moment. That’s great.

      Who else from the South African scene should I be reading? I’m struggling to find quality, regular stuff.

      In Christ,

      Mark

      • Mark,

        I use Amatomu to check SA blogs. My blogroll lists some that I find interesting (or have found interesting in the past – perhaps it needs to be trimmed).

Leave a Reply

