Get your scythe ready because the harvest is in front of you


John 4:35, “Do you not say, ‘There are yet four months, and {then} comes the harvest’? Behold, I say to you, lift up your eyes and look on the fields, that they are white for harvest.”

Eye’s darted around the hall. No one put up their hand. That’s odd, I thought to myself.

Joel asked the question again, “Who here came to Christ after someone walked up to them in a street and handed them a tract? Just pop your hand up.”

I looked around. No one.

“OK, how about someone who responded to an alter call the first time they’d heard the Gospel? Maybe a rally or something?”

A single hand went up in the front.

“One person in the room. That’s it? OK, how about, who here responded to the Gospel after someone who they knew had presented the Gospel over a period of time, maybe even praying for them for years and years? Put your hand up now.”

I remembered my dad telling me of my mother praying everyday for the salvation of my soul with tears in her eyes. I raised my hand and looked around. Every hand in the room was up.

This weekend our church spent some time thinking about evangelism; the message, the methods and the motivation. Clearly from our collective experience much of the evangelistic techniques that we get encouraged to use just don’t plain work, what does work is the faithful, consistent testimony of our families and friends as they proclaim the Gospel of Christ crucified through their everyday lives.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that there isn’t a place for tracts and rallies, some of my favorite online people are cold calling evangelists, literally fishing the streets and street corners, calling people to Christ (Go check out StreetFishing.org for example of a guy who’s faithfully serving Christ in this ministry) but the greatest harvest for you my friend is the people who are living without Christ that are standing right in front of you.

Evangelism is the process of making Christian disciples, learners of The Way; and the person that’s meant to tell them about the glory of the cross is you. Consider Jesus’ Great Commission from Matthew 28:

46 and He said to them, “Thus it is written, that the Christ would suffer and rise again from the dead the third day, 47 and that repentance for forgiveness of sins would be proclaimed in His name to all the nations, beginning from Jerusalem.

Not sure what you’d say? Check out what the apostle said: Click here. “Jesus died, Jesus rose, repent for the forgiveness of sins… Jesus died, Jesus rose, repent for the forgiveness of sins… Jesus died, Jesus rose, repent for the forgiveness of sins…”

4 thoughts on “Get your scythe ready because the harvest is in front of you

  1. The first time you gave your life to the Lord was at a Good Friday service Mark. You shared that with me when you were 5 and half years old. It was when you took part in a play and I remember it was an awesome beginning in your life. There was a prophecy that God hand His hand on you for big things to come and I see that happening already. this was told to me a week later and the lady died just after that in a car accident.

  2. Hey there Mark — I like this post because for me effective evangelism is earning the right to be heard. I always go back to Luke 24, the Road to Emmaus story. The disciples are walking away from Jerusalem when Jesus walks and talks with them. He listens to them; opens scripture to them; they share a meal and their eyes are opened. For me, creating relationships, praying for people, being an example, etc are powerful ways to share the gospel.

    Thanks much and God bless!

  3. Joel preached the same sermon or used the same illustration at church a while back. Exactly the same results.
    I work at an evangelism program for a year.
    Walking up to guys in the streets of Cape Town and repesenting the gospal. Not one convert.
    But we started getting some regulars who became friends and they became well prospects but, not one ever repented I know of.

Leave a Reply

