Paul or Apollos? Who cares?


Paul, Apollos or Diotrephes? Click to enlarge.

So I’ve got this list of questions I’m working through. Maybe you read the post, “What is the relationship between hermeneutics, exegesis, and exposition?” Well it kinda leads onto what I’ve been thinking about over the last few days. The importance of expository preaching in churches (if your church isn’t doing this ask someone why not!).

Then, today, an online friend, The Lighthearted Calvinist, made a couple of comments on another recent posting, “If God is not willing that any should perish, if God takes no pleasure in the death of the wicked, if God calls all men to repent and believe the gospel, and if God desires all men to be saved, then how come only a few are saved?” and I realized that there’s a few more questions I need to answer.

Firstly, “Who do you consider to be the three best expository preachers of our day?” and secondly, “Who do you consider to be the best topical preacher/s of our day?” and finally “Why should you know or care?”

I’m remembering 1 Corinthians 3:6:

6 I planted, Apollos watered, but God was causing the growth.”

Come on, I really want to hear your opinion. Please tell me who you listen to. Piper? Ryrie? Sproul? Spurgeon? Washer? Woolley :)? Who’s been planting and watering you? Please drop me a location of where I can find an mp3 of the sermon as well. I’ll find a way to download it without breaking my internet cap.

2 thoughts on “Paul or Apollos? Who cares?

Leave a Reply

