Brethren in the bush


























Romans 12:9-10, 9 {Let} love {be} without hypocrisy. Abhor what is evil; cling to what is good. 10 {Be} devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor;” Click any image to enlarge.

This weekend was jammed packed full of fun, food and friendship, Christian hospitality, being wrapped by God’s creation with others who appreciate it, thought provoking conversations after dinner about culture and nations and Americans and Spaniards and Germans and Zuid Afrikaners, watching the Springboks eking out a win against the Lions and listening to Bafana Bafana challenging the champs in the Confed Cup on the way home. It really was a great weekend!

Two quick stories: Penrith kids tend to wake up at the crack of dawn to blare the day in. It’s something that Liezl and I tolerate because it fits our daily routine, however the phenomenon is often problematically exacerbated during holiday times. You see they’re over excited, too charged, exceedingly loud little busy bees, and so, out of sensitivity for fellow holiday makers, I rounded them up before others started to stir, dressed them snugly as it was chilly outside and herded them towards the great outdoors for a walk up the closest mountain trusting that some of the energy would be dissipated on the way to the top.

I whistle when I walk (actually I whistle all the time, when I walk, work, wake, worry, wash… you get the point). So there we were, kids running around collecting treasures like bok drolletjies, seeds, pieces of bark and stones while I whistled and walked.

An hour into the climb two kudu broke onto the path. They were splendid looking females with greyish brown coats and thickish white stripes contrasting beautifully against the bare brown rock and green brush of the mountainside. The lead dear bent her head gracefully down, examining a clump of grass from alongside the path. Man, the stillness, tranquility, quiteness, restfullness, grace of the moment and to be sharing it with one’s kids… perfect!

Kaitlyn and Kathryn hesitated for a fraction of a second in the midst of this serene, fleeting moment in time. And then…

… a whooping scream, “DAD, CHECK OUT THE BUCK!”

The moment was shattered. In the blink of an eye the buck disappeared into the thick brush probably close to cardiac arrest.

Hahaha, kids!

The second story happened on the way home: My parents are on holiday in Cape Town. My dad called on Sunday from the top of Table Mountain. We swapped stories of the beauty of our weekends, the joys of the bush and the wonders of the coast. While my dad was describing the amazing view in front of him Kaityn’s voice could be heard from the back of the car, giggling while saying, “Love does not boast and it’s not envious…” She’s too sharp. We all laughed.

Because time in the bush with brethren makes one think of practicing the Christian one another’s I thought that 1 Corinthians 13:4 – 8 would be an appropriate verse:

4 Love is patient, love is kind {and} is not jealous; love does not brag {and} is not arrogant, 5 does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong {suffered,} 6 does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; 7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 8 Love never fails; but if {there are gifts of} prophecy, they will be done away; if {there are} tongues, they will cease; if {there is} knowledge, it will be done away.”

Get away lately? How do you like to unwind? Ever spend holidays with Christians? Every find the time any different to normal holidays? How do you practice love and the one another’s?

3 thoughts on “Brethren in the bush

  1. Yeah I kinda feel like the title of your article. I see you commented on Nic’s blog, soundsofsilence. And I see you fell victim to an “charming, loving Christian” who is impersonating me (not Nic, another guy comminting on his blog). You then called me a fruitloop, well should I say you called him a fruitlop. The guy doing this is from the USA.

    I am from South Africa. I am discerningtheworld2.wordpress…. check my url

    The fake has replicated my blog and called it discerningtheworld3.wordpress… he has taken my author name, my avatar and my make a replica of my blog to the point where people are being confused.

    I don’t have a problem with people arguing and writing about me in articles on their own blogs, but impersonating me is just so past wrong it’s not even funny.

    The guy doing this is not well, and if he can do it to me he can do it to anyone who disagrees with him.

    Btw, if he did this to your blog you would not have a leg to stand on because wordpress.com policy does not cover someone taking your name and making a markpenrith1.wordpress…. blog with the same theme – if they don’t take any content from your blog then it’s ok and they are super free to impersonate you and write stuff about you on others blogs.

    Charming isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

