What do you do with foolish 6 day creation thoughts?


Every now and again I’m convinced that a few of the folk in my family might qualify as missing links.

I’m completely convinced.

But maybe not in what I ought.

I’m convinced that God created the world.

I’m not even talking about Intelligent Design, a much easier sell these days, that faceless force, high above the cosmos pulling at the strings, rolling things into motion. No, I’m talking about 6 days of miraculous wonder followed by one day of rest.

Now I know how foolish the notion is, honestly my post modern mind reels at the thought of it, but I still cling. I’ve heard a little proof here and a whole lot of detraction there and yet I’m not swayed. I’m fixed. I’m “like a tree firmly planted by streams of water.”1

Why? Why hold to something that will bring ridicule? For the same reason that I believe that blood had to be shed so that my sins would be forgiven, or that Jesus was born of a virgin, or that He walked on water, or that He healed the sick, the lame, the possessed… The Bible tells me so. In fact “there are also many other things which Jesus did, which if they were written in detail, I suppose that even the world itself would not contain the books that would be written.”2

Ridiculous? Foolish? Silly? Ha, maybe all these things and more.

The Bible describes this mental stupidity which I clearly suffer from as faith and it gives a clear description of it in Hebrews 11:1:

“Now faith is the assurance of {things} hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.”

That’s what I’ve got, a bad case of the faith.

Foolishness? Certainly, but there again “the wisdom of this world is foolishness before God.”3

Need a bit more to cling to than what I’ve written here? Creation Seminar, by Dr Mark Harwood, at Midrand Chapel, 23 May from 09:00 – 12:30, 151 Pitzer Road, Midrand Chapel, Johannesburg.

If this subject interests you, it certainly interests me, you might find edification by reading The heavens were put there for a reason and Science vs Religion.

1 Psalm 1:3

2 John 21:25

3 1 Corinthians 3:19

7 thoughts on “What do you do with foolish 6 day creation thoughts?

  1. There are holes in Darwin’s theory. There are no transitional species in the “line of evolution”. Also, I wonder why people think procreation is by accident. Why do we happen to have two genders with all the necessary equipment to make a new baby, and the mother just happens to have milk for the newborn… It’s foolish to think there is no intelligence behind it all.

  2. The old South Africa would publish one half truth in a group on 4 empirical facts and so give it creedence. It is a clever technique you use here to talk about the Blood of our Lord amidst the possibility of a six human day creation thereby trying to change it from a possibility to a fact.
    The human day was formed by the Sun.
    The Sun was Created on Day Four.
    Shame on man for defining the first three days with the Sun which was only formed later.

    Study Augustine?

    Tis you who says ” What do you do with foolish 6 day creation thoughts?” Tis you who chose the word foolish.

    Tis you who says ” I’m “like a tree firmly planted by streams of water.””
    Tis nice too know you thoughts here will be uprooted in time.

    Blessings

    • Hi Merry Helper,

      Thanks, it’s always swell to see comments.

      The whole comparison of what I wrote to the propaganda spewed by the Apartheid system I find a bit distasteful but I can hear where you’re coming from. Truth is as we present the way we see things we try to persuade with all the tools at our disposal.

      You have however opened the gateway for me to state something I was thinking about last night but forgot to mention. Although I believe that God created the heavens and the earth in 6 literal days I don’t believe that this is a criteria for a man to be saved. “That Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, and that He was buried, and that He was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures” is far more important.

      On Augustine: He rocks. He said a lot didn’t he. Some of it was spot on, some of it wasn’t.

      You might be interested by him arguing for a young earth in his book The City of God, “Let us, then, omit the conjectures of men who know not what they say, when they speak of the nature and origin of the human race. For some hold the same opinion regarding men that they hold regarding the world itself, that they have always been… They are deceived, too, by those highly mendacious documents which profess to give the history of many thousand years, though, reckoning by the sacred writings, we find that not 6000 years have yet passed.”2

      Drop by and engage more. Your views are welcome.

      In Christ,

      Mark

      1 1 Corinthians 15:3 – 4
      2 Augustine, Of the Falseness of the History Which Allots Many Thousand Years to the World’s Past, The City of God, Book 12: Chapt. 10 [AD 419]

  3. Yeah I have a problem that might be of relevance here.

    I was reading a science textbook the other day about the creation of the earth and mankind, and I couldn’t find a single logical fact about WHY the Earth was created. I mean seriously, if you want to know WHY you have to look at science, right?

    I guess the textbook must have been a complete fabrication, and I will from now on completely disregard science as irrelevant and useless to my life.

    <

  4. 6 Day creation, your interpretation is literal.
    Today you are with me in Paradise. Your interpretation will not be as he only rose after 3 days. No norm of interpretation here. You may say it is the Context in Greek! Hahaha. All I may futher share is God’s time is not ours, a day to the Lord may be as a thousand years.
    Much Respect
    MH

Leave a Reply

