What can we give God as a gift?


I love presents.

“Shh, don’t tell daddy,” she whispered to her mom.

“Don’t tell daddy what Kaitlyn?”

“I’ve got a present for father’s day,” she replied.

“um, Kaitlyn, fathers day isn’t for a couple of months, give him what you’ve got and we’ll make something else for him then.”

I headed to the study and waited for my daughter and my gift with a bit of anticipation.

“Hey daddy, I’ve got something for you,” Kaitlyn announced in a sing song voice, with the something clasped behind her back.

“Cool, what is it honey?” I asked.

She presented her gift to me, a rook and a king, two beautiful chess pieces that had gone missing a few days ago from my set. I couldn’t help but smile. I was very grateful to get them back and amused by how happy Kaitlyn was to give them to me.

I think that sometimes we’re like that. We feel so proud to be giving God our itsy bitsy tithe or offering.

I remember that when I was a kid we used to repeat these words every week in Church:

Yours, Lord, is the greatness, the power,
the glory, the splendour, and the majesty;
for everything in heaven and on earth is yours.
All things come from you,
and of your own do we give you.
*

If everything already belongs to Him what then can we give Him?

In response to a man’s question around what to do to inherit eternal life Jesus replied in Luke 10:27:

“YOU SHALL LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR STRENGTH, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND; AND YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF.”

Do you like giving gifts? Do you like receiving gifts? Got anything else you’d like to give to God?

* I got the words from the Church of England website.

Leave a Reply

