*THUD*


Cheese.

This morning was a mad rush. I spent too long in the shower and had no time to mess around. In a spin I grabbed the dental floss and went to work while packing my laptop bag.

*THUD*

“What was that?”

Lying on the top of my bag was the filling that used to cap my maxillary first molar.

“Arrgh,” my reaction was not one of pain but frustration, now I’d have to go to a dentist and with mild odontophobia that’s always a joy.

On the way to work my tongue found the gaping hole in my upper set of otherwise glistering porcelains. After 10 minutes of probing I felt like I was developing a one on one relationship with my inferior temporal gyrus.

Isn’t it strange how once I knew where the hole was, what it felt like, what the dimensions were and everything else that could be deduced from mechanoreception or somatic sensations I still couldn’t leave the issue alone.

I am prodding, nudging, poking, probing, jabbing, stabbing, tickling and the sensation is irritating me to death!

Today I’m considering some of what Jesus said about the Holy Spirit in John 16. Verse 8 is alive to me right now:

“And He, when He comes, will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment;”

That word convict used by the Apostle John is the Holy Spirit’s work of applying the truths of God to men’s own minds as to convince them by fair and sufficient arguments that they are sinners1.

Sin is like the tooth and the Holy Spirit is like the tongue. Once He gets in there, there is no stopping him, you walk away knowing your sin and knowing your error.

1 I got this quote from gotquestions. It wasn’t credited in their wiki but I’m sure it’s tracable to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Barnes

Dental work is a healthy thing, experienced any lately? Conviction is a healthy thing, experienced any lately?

One thought on “*THUD*

  1. Pingback: *THUD* (via Because He Lives) « Because He Lives

Leave a Reply

