The heavens were put there for a reason


Who doesn’t like staring at the stars?

This weekend Liezl, the girls and I had the opportunity to get away with close friends to a game farm near Bela-Bela in Limpopo. The ladies left early on Friday but Dave, his daughter Lauren and I had Bible study commitments and so left later that evening. To say that Saturday was the perfect day for me is an understatement. We played some cards in the morning, spent some time in the sun watching the kids swimming around lunchtime, went on a game drive later in the afternoon and ended the evening by braaing at a bush lodge in the middle of the African expanse.

Life rushes by so quickly. As a kid I can remember looking up at Hailey’s Comet with my parents in the 80’s. It feels like yesterday. I don’t think I’ve looked up at the stars since. The conversation had been good and the night was starting to draw to a close, so procuring one of the sun chairs next to the pool I lay down, looked up and contemplated on not much in particular. It wasn’t long until Kaitlyn, my oldest daughter, came and joined me, later followed by the rest of the party. And there we were, friends and family, eight of us, watching the stars under an African sky.

It was clear. I mean really, really crystal clear. Bela-Bela itself is a one horse town in the middle of nowhere and Mabula, the farm we were on, is about 30 km’s West of it. The stars played their part glimmering and flicking like tiny little diamonds on a dark velvet backdrop. Memories of science classes trickled back as I identified constellations on the breathtakingly beautiful crisp canvass in front of me.

We must have seen ten satellites every ten minutes and shooting stars were a dime a dozen. As a group we chatted a bit while soaking in the awesome view displayed in front of us with oooh’s and aaah’s with each cosmic cascade. It was perfect. An enchanted theatre. Unreal.

Kaitlyn, lying on my chest, said in an almost reverent way, “Daddy it’s so big.”

“Yes, it’s like a canvas isn’t it. Who’s the painter?” I replied to her.

We spent some time looking above and I know I for one spent some time thinking within. After a while we had to go. I grudgingly left. Not wanting to but knowing we had to.

This evening, when I went and prayed with the girls, I asked Kaitlyn what her high of the weekend was.

“Watching the stars with you last night,” was the reply.

My heart sang because truthfully that was the highlight of the year for me.

Psalm 19 verses 1 – 2 says:

1 The heavens are telling of the glory of God;
And their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.
2 Day to day pours forth speech,
And night to night reveals knowledge.”

Want to hear the verse in context? Psalms 14 – 28
What is this about?

9 thoughts on “The heavens were put there for a reason

  1. Where we live in Northeastern Pennsylvania,it is very rural.We are quite a ways from any city light that can take away from the brightness of the stars.I have always loved gazing at the heavens,always in awe. Since I drive truck,I am quite often up and leaving very early in the morning,usually between 2:00 and4:00,and the stars seem to be at their brightest then.There are times when I might see a half dozen shooting stars just in the short time it takes to walk our dog. The Big Dipper is always right over our house.Right-side up,tipped over at other times,depending on time of day and season.I haven’t had a lot of time watching with the kids(my daughter will be 8 in April,my son was 5 in November,but what they do see always has a great impression on them.My son just loves looking at the moon,and always reminds us when it is getting bigger each month. The one thing that has always absolutly amazed me,is how any one can look at night sky with all it’s order and complexity,and say that it came to be chance.How anyone can look at that and not realize that there is SOMEONE who created it is beyond comprehension for me.

    • Hi Rob,

      Interesting chat with you last night. Thanks, it was great to make a connection. Let’s carry on talking.

      Regards,

      Mark

  2. Hey Mark, thanks for dropping by and commenting on my blog! Haven’t had anyone from South Africa yet. I *suppose* I can excuse African decor from someone who actually lives in Africa :) And you’re right about Karma – has nothing to do with Galatians. While I do believe that we can ‘reap what we sow’ in this lifetime in the temporal sense, it’s directed by a God who cannot be mocked.

    Great blog here – I look forward to reading more. Hope to see you around again. God bless and happy blogging!

    • Hi Matt,

      I was directed to your blog through a number of South Africans who think you’re the bees knees.

      I really ejoyed reading through a number of the postings on your blog. Thanks for the encouragement.

      In Christ,

      Mark

  3. Hi Pal, My first response was sent back with an error message because I didn’t sill in the details correctly. Why don’t we read instructions anymore? Now I can’t remember what I said the first time!!

    I really found that you article gave me so many things at different levels. I read it as a father and grandfather and loved the picture that it developed for me. I read it as a believer and was truly moved yet again by the awesome majesty of our God who thrust those stars into space. I read it as a Dad and I was so impressed with the way my son articulated that moment and placed it before us to enjoy. It really was a well written article. You are a star – the kind that also make me praise our great and mighty God.

    Love, Dad

    • Hi SharkBait,

      If I didn’t know you better I’d ban your IP ;).

      I spent some time reading your blogs. You’ve been busy at this for a while. Some great stuff.

      I linked to you yesterday out of a sense of gratitude for the advice that you’ve given me. Many thanks and keep pouring the tips in.

      In Christ,

      Mark

Leave a Reply

